This annual Prize is named for Sir John Halliday Croom (1909-86), a past President of the College in recognition of his support of the concept of Collegiate Membership. The prize consists of a medal and £250. 


Collegiate members of any UK Royal College of Physicians, resident in the UK.

Application and selection procedure

Applicants should submit an outline of a proposed lecture to be delivered at the annual Medical Trainees' Conference: New Approaches to Old Problems on 22 February 2019. The winning submission and other entries may also be entered into the College Journal.

It should be on a topic related to research within the last 5 years and candidates are asked to submit a signed precis of not more than 1000 words, including relevant references, outlining the proposed lecture. The material need not comprise original investigative work nor does it need to be connected with the theme of the Medical Trainees Conference.

Anonymised abstracts are shortlisted by the Trainee and Members' Committee.

Applicants are asked to email their precis by midnight on Monday 6 January 2019. 

The winning submission and other entries may also be entered into the Journal of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh.

Further Information

Any enquiries can be directed to Anne Fairbairn 0131 247 3649

Previous recipients


1974 Dr El Wardle

1975 Dr E Lloyd

1976 Dr R St Clair Barnetson

1977 Dr IW Campbell

1978 Dr A Parker

1979 Dr MF Sudlow


1980 Dr PMA Calverley

1981 Dr JB Irving

1982 Dr AK Burnett

1983 Dr AG Leitch

1984 Dr NG Dewhurst

1985 Dr GDO Lowe

1986 Dr RP Brettle

1987 Dr AML Lever

1988 Dr R Taylor

1989 Dr SM Crawford


1990 Dr AA Gehani

1991 Dr HJ Alter

1992 Dr AML Lever

1993 Dr Wm Bissett

1994 Dr J McEwan

1995 Dr CM Dayan

1996 Dr S Nicholson

1997 Dr AJ Brady

1998 Dr J Simpson

1999 Dr S Gupta


2000 Dr J Stebbing

2001 Dr D Newby

2002 Dr A Crean

2003 Dr J Knight

2004 Dr J Payne

2005 Dr J Stone

2006 Dr E Pearson

2007 Dr A Horsley

2008 Dr M Eddleston

2009 Dr P Ritches


2010 Dr W Whiteley

2011 Dr D Hunt

2012 Dr T Lee

2013 Dr G Duncan

2014 Dr H Hopkinson

2015 Dr HNY Haboubi

2017 Dr PD Ripley

2018 Dr T Cartlidge