The College congratulates Fellows and Members who have received Queen's Birthday Honours in 2021, including:


  • Professor Linda Bauld OBE FRCP Edin: Bruce and John Usher Professor of Public Health, University of Edinburgh. For services to Guiding Public Health Response to and Public Understanding of COVID-19
  • Professor Alexander Meikle Davison MBE FRCP Edin: Trustee and Chairman, The Lady Haig Poppy Factory in Edinburgh. For voluntary service to the Royal British Legion in Scotland
  • Professor John Eric Deanfield CBE FRCP Edin: Director, National Institute of Cardiovascular Outcomes Research, and Senior Adviser to Public Health England. For services to the Prevention and Treatment of Heart Disease
  • Dr Martin Frederic Hudson BEM FRCP Edin: Founder, Holmes Chapel Music Society. For services to Music
  • Professor Carrie MacEwen DBE FRCP Edin: Lately Chair, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges. For services to Ophthalmology and Healthcare Leadership during the Covid-19 Response
  • Professor Chuka Uchemefuna Nwokolo CBE FRCP Edin: Consultant Gastroenterologist, University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust. For services to the NHS and Medical Research
  • Dr David Nylander MBE FRCP Edin: Consultant Gastroenterologist, The Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. For services to health in Sierra Leone and the UK

Collegiate Members

  • Dr Melanie Dawn Cross OBE MRCP(UK): Doctor and Clinical Lead Respiratory Medicine, Forth Valley. For services to Respiratory Medicine

Broader College and healthcare community

MRCP(UK) examiners

  • Dr John Gareth Llewelyn MBE: Consultant Physician Neurology and Hon. Senior Lecturer Aneurin Bevan University Health Board Organisation. For services to Medicine in Wales
  • Dr A Raghuram MBE: Consultant Physician, Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. For services to the NHS and the Covid-19 Response
  • Dr Emma Clare Vaux OBE: Consultant Nephrologist and General Physician, Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Medical Education

Notable non-College Fellows and Members

  • Dr Katherine Henderson MBE: President Royal College of Emergency Medicine. For services to Emergency Medicine during COVID-19
  • Sir Michael McBride: CMO, NI. For services to Public Health in Northern Ireland
  • Prof Fiona McQueen CBE: Chief Nursing Officer for Scotland. For services to the NHS in Scotland
  • Dr Peter Lees MBE: CEO Faculty of Medical Leadership & Management. For services to medical leadership

Commenting, Professor Andrew Elder, President of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, said:

The College is immensely proud of its own Fellows and Members, and colleagues close to our work, who have been at the forefront of the COVID-19 response around the world. The Queen’s Birthday Honours reflects their expertise, and highlights that our Fellows and Members have continued to deliver quality care outcomes for patients during the pandemic. We are very grateful to them all for their hard work and dedication, and for their commitment to science, medicine, patient care, the arts and charity.