On Friday 26 February, the College held its Annual Meeting where the following announcements were made:

Next Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh President

Professor Andrew Elder was officially confirmed as president-elect of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh. He will take office on 1 June. Educated at Edinburgh Medical School, he was first appointed as an NHS consultant in 1993 and is currently a Consultant Geriatrician in NHS Fife and an Honorary Professor at Edinburgh Medical School. Since 2013, Professor Elder has been a visiting Professor and scholar at Stanford Medicine in the USA, where he teaches core bedside skills to trainee doctors. The College congratulates Professor Elder on his election and would like to express its sincere thanks to Professor Angela Thomas for taking on the role of Acting President over the past year.

Elections to Council

The following Fellows have been elected to Council and will serve for a three-year term:

  • Dr Caroline Whitworth (Lothian, Fife and the Borders)
  • Dr Arunje Sen (South of England)
  • Dr Louise Bath (Paediatric Practice)
  • Dr Kevin O’Kane (Greater London)
  • Dr Emmanuel Obuobie (Wales)

Charter Trustees

The Acting President also announced the appointment of three new Charter Trustees:

  • Professor Sir Alan Craft
  • Professor John Connell
  • Ms Elaine Tait