Our Scholarships aim to enable talented doctors to undertake the joint University of Edinburgh/Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh MSc in Internal Medicine, part-time, by distance learning.

Scholarship applications for 2018 are now closed. Applications closed at 23:00 (UK time) on Wednesday 11 July 2018. ​

The College Turner Scholarship

One full scholarship for a doctor who is a resident citizen of an eligible Sub-Saharan African country[1]

75% Scholarships

Up to four scholarships where the College will pay 75% of your tuition fees each year for doctors who are resident citizens of a DfID priority country[2]

50% Scholarships

A small number of scholarships where the College will pay 50% of your tuition fees each year for doctors who are resident in the UK or any country not in the DfID list


To apply applicants must:

  • Be self-funding (support from friends and relatives is acceptable)

  • Be a resident citizen in a qualifying country

  • For the full and 75% scholarships - not have studied in a developed country previously (though applicants who have are welcome to apply for the 50% scholarships)

  • Have been accepted onto the MSc.

Application and Selection Process

We will use information you supply in the University MSc application process and supplement this with:

  • Explain how your attainment of this MSc will benefit your career (250 words)

  • Explain how your attainment of this MSc will benefit the service you work in (250 words)

  • What is it about this course that makes you want to study with the University of Edinburgh? (200 words)

Each question will be scored by four assessors. Where the scores are tied, the College reserves the right to make the final decision. Priority will be given to those who are in their first 10 years post-qualifying as a doctor.

Scholarship applications for 2018 are now closed. ​

If you have any queries about the application process please contact Josiane Kirk (j.kirk@rcpe.ac.uk)

Past recipients

A list of previous MSc Scholarship Recipients can be viewed here

Term and conditions

The College reserves the right to adjust award of scholarships if we do not receive applications from suitably qualified candidates for all scholarships listed.

The scholarships will be paid directly to the University of Edinburgh Tuition Fees department, at the start of each academic year.  Recipients of all scholarships are expected to obtain passes at Masters level (50%) each year in order to qualify for the next year of funding. Students who pass at 50% or higher and wish to defer for a year before resuming their studies will be able to defer the subsequent years of the scholarship at the College’s discretion.  Alternatively, they may conclude their studies with the Certificate (after one year) or Diploma (after 2 years).

Students who are funded at any point of the course by a sponsor (i.e. have their tuition fees paid by an employer, industry or government sponsor, charity or third-party organisation) are not eligible to apply.  Scholarship recipients must advise the College if at any time they obtain funding from another source and stop being self-funding. In such cases the College scholarship will be offered to another student, who is self-funding.

Scholarship recipients will be required to submit an end-of-programme report at the conclusion of their studies.

We would like to publish limited details of scholarship recipients (name, country, photograph, brief biography) online on either or both of the College or the University of Edinburgh websites, and possibly also on printed materials.  If selected, we will seek your permission to do this.

[1] Eligible countries in SSA are those also listed in the DfID priority list: Congo (Democratic Republic of), Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan,  Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

[2] Countries on the DfID priority list: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Burma, Democratic Republic of Congo,  Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, India, Iraq, Jordan, Kenya, Kyrgyz Republic, Lebanon, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nepal, Nigeria, Occupied Palestinian Territories, Pakistan, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Uganda, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.