Formed in 2011, this sub-committee works to ensure that SAS doctors are represented within the College. It meets three times a year and promotes and supports Staff Grade and Associate Specialist (SAS) doctors' professional and educational development. Recent statements to College Council have covered issues such as SAS Doctors as Educational Supervisors and progression to Fellowship for SAS Doctors.

Our sub-committee members attend both internal and external committees on your behalf. These include the Trainees and Members’ and Revalidation Committees, the Academy SAS Committee and the Joint Royal Colleges of Physicians’ Training Board (JRCPTB). The Chair of BMA Scottish SAS Committee, Dr Sue Robertson, recently joined the sub-committee and we are keen to further increase our involvement with external committees.

The Trainees and Members’ Committee run a comprehensive programme of free Evening Medical Updates (also videolinked around the UK), which cover many topics of interest to SAS Doctors.

SAS doctors are encouraged to join the College as Associate Members or Collegiate Members from as little as £5 per month, and can access a our online education programme, free access to the Royal Colleges of Physicians of the UK CPD for Physicians scheme, support for revalidation, discounted attendance at College events. Please ensure details are up to date, to reflect your current position.

This workstream is being led by Dr Mike Jones, who is a point of contact for SAS doctors seeking College advice regarding CESR applications as well as those seeking more general educational advice. All queries will initially be directed to the SAS sub-committee and those requiring further input will be directed to Dr Jones.

In order to best represent you and support your needs we need to know what concerns our SAS members have. Please get in touch with us via the contacts below and let us know what the College can do for you.  If you are interested in becoming involved on the sub-committee, we would be delighted to hear from you.

Contact Sarah Donaldson with any queries.


  • Dr Fiona Robertson (Chair)
  • Dr Colin Baines
  • Dr Rebecca Clarke
  • Dr Helen Elder
  • Dr Anne Meekison
  • Dr Sue Robertson
  • Dr Marion Slater


Useful links