The Specialty Certificate Examinations (SCEs) have been developed in close collaboration with the UK specialist societies. Physicians in training must pass the appropriate SCE in order to gain admission to the GMC Specialist Registrar.

Candidates who pass the SCE will receive a certificate. Trainees who hold MRCP(UK), have gained the SCE and who are recommended for a CCT after completing training in a GMC-approved programme, will be entitled to apply for the postnominal MRCP(UK) (Specialty).

In addition to being a requirement for specialist physicians in the UK, the examinations provide an international benchmark for postgraduate medical education.

SCEs are offered for the following specialties:

  • Acute Medicine
  • Dermatology
  • Endocrinology and Diabetes
  • Gastroenterology
  • Geriatric Medicine
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Medical Oncology
  • Nephrology
  • Neurology
  • Palliative Medicine
  • Respiratory Medicine
  • Rheumatology


Further information about Specialty Certificate Examinations can be found on the MRCP(UK) website.